Big Monday ‘Showdown’ highlights Big 12 hoops schedule for KU, K-State

Jayhawks, Wildcats net nationally televised tilt at 8 p.m. Jan. 29

Kansas players Devonte’ Graham, left, and Frank Mason, front, celebrate with teammate Sviatoslav Mykhailiuk, right, after Mykhailiuk’s game-winning shot in last season’s 90-88 victory over Kansas State on Jan. 3 at Allen Fieldhouse. The Jayhawks and Wildcats will meet for the first time this season at 11 a.m. Jan. 13 in Lawrence. (File photograph/The Associated Press)

Another Sunflower Showdown on ESPN’s Big Monday highlight’s this year’s Big 12 schedule released Thursday afternoon.

 

The Kansas and Kansas State men’s basketball teams will play Round 2 of this year’s installment in the in-state rivalry when the Jayhawks travel to Manhattan to take on the Wildcats at 8 p.m. Jan. 29 at Bramlage Coliseum. The first meeting between the teams will take place at 11 a.m. Jan. 13 in Lawrence.

The Jayhawks will appear three other times on Big Monday: at West Virginia (8 p.m. Jan. 15), vs. Oklahoma (8 p.m. Feb. 19) and vs. Texas (8 p.m. Feb. 26). The Wildcats, meanwhile, will play two other Big Monday contests: vs. West Virginia (4 p.m. Jan. 1) and at Baylor (8 p.m. Jan. 22).

Both in-state teams open conference play Dec. 29, when KU will travel to Texas for an 8 p.m. contest against the Longhorns and K-State will make the trip to Ames to for an 8 p.m. tip against Iowa State. KU’s first home game is an 8 p.m. Jan. 2 tilt with Texas Tech at Allen Fieldhouse.

The two squads also wrap their conference seasons on the same date, March 3, when KU takes on Oklahoma State at 3 p.m. in Stillwater and K-State hosts Baylor for a 1 p.m. game at Bramlage.

2017-18 BIG 12 MEN’S BASKETBALL CONFERENCE SCHEDULE

Saturday, Dec. 30

Oklahoma at TCU (ESPNU)

Monday, Jan. 1

West Virginia at K-State (ESPNU), 4 p.m.

Texas at Iowa State (ESPN2), 5 p.m.

Tuesday, Jan. 2

TCU at Baylor (ESPNews), 6 p.m.

Texas Tech at Kansas (ESPN2), 8 p.m.

Wednesday, Jan. 3

Oklahoma State at Oklahoma (ESPNU), 8 p.m.

Saturday, Jan. 6

Texas at Baylor (ESPNU), 1 p.m.

Iowa State at Oklahoma State (ESPNU), 3 p.m.

Oklahoma at West Virginia (ESPN/2), 6:15 p.m.

Kansas at TCU (ESPN/2), 8:15 p.m.

K-State at Texas Tech, TBA

Tuesday, Jan. 9

Texas Tech at Oklahoma (ESPNU), 6 p.m.

Baylor at West Virginia (ESPN2), 6 p.m.

Iowa State at Kansas (ESPN2), 8 p.m.

Wednesday, Jan. 10

Oklahoma State at K-State (ESPNews), 7 p.m.

TCU at Texas (ESPNU), 8 p.m.

Saturday, Jan. 13

K-State at Kansas (ESPN/2), 11 a.m.

TCU at Oklahoma (ESPNU), 12 p.m.

West Virginia at Texas Tech (ESPN/2), 1 p.m.

Baylor at Iowa State (ESPNews), 2 p.m.

Texas at Oklahoma State (ESPNews), 4 p.m.

Monday, Jan. 15

Oklahoma State at Baylor (ESPNU), 8 p.m.

Kansas at West Virginia (ESPN), 8 p.m.

Tuesday, Jan. 16

Oklahoma at K-State (ESPNU), 8 p.m.

Wednesday, Jan. 17

Iowa State at TCU (ESPNU), 8 p.m.

Texas Tech at Texas

Saturday, Jan. 20

Texas at West Virginia (CBS), 1 p.m.

Oklahoma at Oklahoma State (ESPN/2), 1 p.m.

Texas Tech at Iowa State (ESPNU), 1 p.m.

TCU at K-State (ESPNU), 3 p.m.

Baylor at Kansas (ESPN), 5 p.m.

Monday, Jan. 22

Iowa State at Texas (ESPNU), 6 p.m.

K-State at Baylor (ESPNU), 8 p.m.

West Virginia at TCU (ESPN), 8 p.m.

Tuesday, Jan. 23

Kansas at Oklahoma (ESPN2), 6 p.m.

Oklahoma State at Texas Tech (ESPNews), 6 p.m.

Monday, Jan. 29

Kansas at K-State (ESPN), 8 p.m.

Tuesday, Jan. 30

TCU at Oklahoma State (ESPNU), 6 p.m.

Baylor at Oklahoma (ESPN2), 8 p.m.

Wednesday, Jan. 31

West Virginia at Iowa State (ESPNU), 6 p.m.

Texas at Texas Tech (ESPNU), 8 p.m.

Saturday, Feb. 3

Oklahoma State at Kansas (CBS), 11 a.m.

Texas Tech at TCU (ESPNU), 1 p.m.

K-State at West Virginia (ESPN/2), 3 p.m.

Oklahoma at Texas (ESPN/2), 5 p.m.

Iowa State at Baylor (ESPN2), 7 p.m.

Monday, Feb. 5

West Virginia at Oklahoma (ESPN), 8 p.m.

Tuesday, Feb. 6

Baylor at Oklahoma State (ESPNU), 7 p.m.

TCU at Kansas (ESPN2), 8 p.m.

Wednesday, Feb. 7

Iowa State at Texas Tech (ESPNU), 8 p.m.

K-State at Texas, TBA

Saturday, Feb. 10

Oklahoma State at West Virginia (ESPN/2), 11 a.m.

Kansas at Baylor (CBS), 1 p.m.

Texas at TCU (ESPNU), 1 p.m.

Oklahoma at Iowa State (ESPN/2), 1 p.m.

Texas Tech at K-State (ESPNU), 7 p.m.

Monday, Feb. 12

TCU at West Virginia (ESPN2), 8 p.m.

Baylor at Texas (ESPN), 8 p.m.

Tuesday, Feb. 13

Kansas at Iowa State (ESPN2), 6 p.m.

Oklahoma at Texas Tech (ESPNews), 8 p.m.

Wednesday, Feb. 14

K-State at Oklahoma State (ESPNU), 6 p.m.

Saturday, Feb. 17

Texas at Oklahoma (ESPN/2), 11 a.m.

Iowa State at K-State (ESPNU), 12 p.m.

West Virginia at Kansas (ESPN/2), 5 p.m.

Texas Tech at Baylor (ESPNU), 6:30 p.m.

Oklahoma State at TCU (ESPN2/U), 7 p.m.

NFL Pick'Em

Monday, Feb. 19

Oklahoma at Kansas (ESPN), 8 p.m.

Tuesday, Feb. 20

West Virginia at Baylor (ESPN2), 6 p.m.

Wednesday, February 21

Texas Tech at Oklahoma State (ESPNU), 6 p.m.

Texas at K-State (ESPNU), 8 p.m.

TCU at Iowa State, TBA

Saturday, Feb. 24

Baylor at TCU (ESPN/2), 11 a.m.

Kansas at Texas Tech (ESPN/2), 1 p.m.

Iowa State at West Virginia (ESPN/2), 5 p.m.

K-State at Oklahoma (ESPNU), 5 p.m.

Oklahoma State at Texas, TBA

Monday, Feb. 26

Texas at Kansas (ESPN), 8 p.m.

Texas Tech at West Virginia (ESPN2), 8 p.m.

Tuesday, Feb. 27

Oklahoma State at Iowa State (ESPNU), 6 p.m.

Oklahoma at Baylor (ESPN2), 8 p.m.

K-State at TCU (ESPNU), 8 p.m.

Friday, March 2

Iowa State at Oklahoma (ESPN2), 8 p.m.

Saturday, March 3

West Virginia at Texas (ESPN/2), 11 a.m.

Baylor at K-State (ESPN/2), 1 p.m.

Kansas at Oklahoma State (ESPN/2), 3 p.m.

TCU at Texas Tech (ESPN/2), 3 p.m.

 

More

Mon, 10/16/2017 - 23:29

Washburn golf leads after Day 1 of own tourney

The Washburn golf team will take a one-shot lead into the last round of the WU Invitational.

Read more